The American Medal of the Year award was established in 2014 to foster and recognize the growth of America’s own thriving medallic art scene. It is an opportunity for American medallic artists to proudly showcase their work and raise appreciation for American medallic art.

The award is open to all AMSA members, U.S. citizens and residents of 5 years or more. The nominations can come from mints, medalists, judges, AMSA members, or anyone else by March 1st for medals made in the preceding calendar year.

Entries Must Include:

  • Name and contact information of the medalist
  • 300 dpi color images of each side submitted medals
  • Material (if precious metal, include weight)
  • Dimensions
  • Price (if available)
  • Title

Please email requirements and information to:

To encourage camaraderie and growth of familiarity with contemporary medallic art, the 7-person judging committee is permanent and consists of persons from the numismatic world and museums, who have no conflicts of interest.

The seven distinguished jurors are: Philip Attwood, Curator of Medals, Department of Coins and Medals, British Museum and editor of Medals; Cory Gillilland, Member of the Consultative Committee of Federation Internationale de la Medaille d’Art and formerly Curator and Deputy Director of the National Numismatic Collection at the Smithsonian Institution; Barbara Gregory, editor of The Numismatist; Arthur Houghton, former curator of antiquities at the J. Paul Getty Museum and president of the American Numismatic Society; Steve Roach, editor of Coin World, and formerly paintings specialist at Christie’s; Dr. Alan Stahl, Curator of Numismatics, Princeton University, and one of the founders of AMSA; and Ben Weiss, medal collector and author, member of the board of directors of Medal Collectors of America and its webmaster.

The judging committee may determine up to 2 runner-ups. The award winner and runner-ups are announced in press releases and will be featured on an AMY page on the AMSA website. The winner receives an award medal designed and created by Heidi Wastweet.

For any inquiries, please email Mel below:

Previous Winners


Breakout by Michael Meszaros


Black Crowned Night Heron/Brookgreen Gardens by Heidi Wastweet


Remembrance by Susan Taylor



Season of the Crow by Richard Bonham


Sic Transit Gloria Mundi by Michael Meszaros