January 15, 2016 is the Deadline for Entries to the competition for the 2016 Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture.

2016_Numismatic_Art_Award_for_Excellence_in_Medallic_SculptureThe Numismatic Art Award for Excellence in Medallic Sculpture is sponsored by the largest numismatic organization in the United States – the American Numismatic Association. This is an award to a living sculptor whose cumulative lifetime achievements in the field of medallic sculpture have been of the highest order, “exemplifying the fine art of designing, sculpting, and engraving.” A sculptor can win this award only one time.

Nominations should include the name of the nominee, address, contact information, a list of numismatic accomplishments, a brief biography and photographs of at least five medals – or internet addresses where they can be viewed. Nominators should include their addresses and contact information; artists may nominate themselves. Nominations must be received by noon January 15, 2016. Nominations should be submitted on the ANA web site or sent to Ann Rahn, Project Liaison Coordinator at arahn@money.org. If you have any questions, they can be sent to Mel Wacksm Chairperson of the NAAEMS Committee at numismel@aol.com.

Past Winners:

1966 Paul Vincze
1967 Gilroy Roberts
1968 Frank Gasparro
1969 Edward Grove
1970 C. Paul Jennewein
1971 Ralph Menconi
1972 Elizabeth Jones
1973 Gertrude Lathrop
1974 Abram Belskie
1975 Robert Weinman
1976 No Recipient
1977 Karen Worth
1978 Mico Kaufman
1979 Donald De Lue
1980 Bruno Mankowski
1981 Joseph Kiselewski
1982 Adlai Hardin
1983 No Recipient
1984 Anthony Jones
1985 Philip Nathan
1986 No Recipient
1987 Marcel Jovine
1988 John Cook
1989 Marika Somogyi
1990 Alex Shagin
1991 Eugene Daub
1992 Dora de Pedery-Hunt
1993 Chester Martin
1994 Don Everhart II
1995 Patricia Verani
1996 Edward Steever IV
1997 Virginia Janssen
1998 Gerta Ries Wiener
1999 Hal Reed
2000 Thomas Rogers, Sr.
2001 John Mercanti
2002 T. James Ferrell
2003 Ron Landis
2004 No Recipient
2005 Garrett Burke
2006 Leonda Finke
2007 Jeanne Stevens-Sollman
2008 Jim Licaretz
2009 Merlin Szasz
2010 Ivanka Mincheva
2011 Michael Meszaros
2012 Mashiko
2013 James MaloneBeach
2014 Ron Dutton
2015 Angelo Grilli