Don Everhart joined the United States Mint sculptor-engraver team in January 2004.
Born in York, Pennsylvania, he earned a Bachelor of Fine Arts in painting from
Kutztown State University in 1972. The following year, Everhart joined the Franklin Mint
as a designer where he held the staff sculptor position for five years.

In March 1980, Everhart left the Franklin Mint to pursue a freelance career. During this
period, his work included figurines, plates, coins, and medals for Walt Disney, Tiffany,
the Royal Norwegian Mint, and the British Royal Mint.

Everhart has received numerous commissions. Most notable of these is Georgetown
University’s Sports Hall of Fame, a 24-piece bronze installation.

In addition to international exhibitions, Everhart’s work is included in several permanent collections, including:

  • The Smithsonian Institution
  • The British Museum
  • The American Numismatic Society
  • The National Sculpture Society

He also received the prestigious American Numismatic Association’s Sculptor of the
Year Award in 1994. In 1997, his submission was chosen as the official inaugural medal
for President Clinton’s second term.

Everhart is a former president of the American Medallic Sculpture Association (1993-
1994) and is a fellow member of the National Sculpture Society.

Since joining the Mint in 2004, Everhart has created designs for numerous coins and
medals, notably the 2014 National Baseball Hall of Fame Commemorative Coins
(selected 2016 Coin of the Year), designing the reverse and sculpting both sides of the
first curved coins produced by the U.S. Mint.

He designed and sculpted the common reverse for the Presidential $1 Coin and 14
obverse portraits in the series. His designs appear on three of the 50 State Quarters
coins honoring Nevada, New Mexico, and Hawaii and he sculpted three others,
celebrating Idaho, Montana, and California. He also sculpted the design of the 2009
quarter that honored the District of Columbia.

Four of the designs in the America the Beautiful Quarters® Program are his, including
Hot Springs National Park in Arkansas; Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming; Perry’s
Victory and International Peace Memorial in Ohio, and Great Sand Dunes National Park
in Colorado.

Other circulating coin designs by Everhart include the 2005 Westward Journey Nickel
obverse bearing the profile of Thomas Jefferson and the “Professional Life in Illinois”
reverse of the four-coin 2009 Lincoln Bicentennial One-Cent Coin series.

Among the many commemorative designs he has created are the 2016 National Park
Service 100th Anniversary gold $5 (both sides) the 2015 March of Dimes
Commemorative Silver Dollar reverse (selected the Most Inspirational in the 2017 Coin
of the Year awards), the 2010 American Veterans Disabled for Life Silver Dollar
reverse; and the 2006 Benjamin Franklin Commemorative Silver Dollar “Founding
Father” reverse.

Everhart has also designed many Congressional Gold Medals, including the 2005 Dr.
Martin Luther King, Jr., and Coretta Scott King medal obverse; the 2005 Dalai Lama
medal obverse, both sides of the 2006 Dr. Michael E. DeBakey medal; both sides of the
2008 Constantino Brumidi medal, and both sides of the 2007 Daw Aung San Suu Kyi

He designed and sculpted the 2014 Shimon Peres medal obverse; the 2015 Jack
Nicklaus obverse; the 2014 American Fighter Aces reverse, and 11 of the 2007 and
2008 Code Talkers series of Congressional Gold Medals honoring Native Americans for
their military service. In 2016 he designed and sculpted both sides of the Barack Obama
Second Term Presidential Medal and the reverse of the First Term medal.



Phone: (484) – 883 – 0856