AMSA’s Prestigious Annual American Medal of the Year Award

The American Medal of the Year award was established in 2014 to foster and recognize the growth of America’s own thriving medallic art scene. It is an opportunity for American medallic artists to proudly showcase their work and raise appreciation for American medallic art.

The award is open to all AMSA members, U.S. citizens and residents of 5 years or more. The nominations can come from mints, medalists, judges, AMSA members, or anyone else by March 1st for medals made in the preceding calendar year.

Entries Must Include:

  • Name and contact information of the medalist
  • 300 dpi color images of each side submitted medals
  • Material (if precious metal, include weight)
  • Dimensions
  • Price (if available)
  • Title

Please email submissions and all information above to:

To encourage camaraderie and growth of familiarity with contemporary medallic art, the 7-person judging committee is permanent and consists of persons from the numismatic world and museums, who have no conflicts of interest.

The seven distinguished jurors are:

  • Philip Attwood, Honorary Research Curator British Museum, President of FIDEM, and editor of The Medal
  • Ellen Feingold: Curator of the National Numismatic Collection, Smithsonian Institution
  • Cory Gillilland: former Curator and Deputy Director of the National Numismatic Collection, Smithsonian Institution
  • Caleb Noel: Editor-in-Chief of The Numismatist
  • Steve Roach: Editor-at-Large of Coin World
  • Alan Stahl, Ph.D.:  Curator of Numismatics, Princeton University
  • Mel Wacks: Member Board of Directors of AMSA, Director of the Jewish-American Hall of Fame
  • Ben Weiss, Ph.D.: Member of the Board of Directors of Medal Collectors of America (MCA)

The judging committee may determine up to 2 runner-ups. The award winner and runner-ups are announced in press releases and will be featured on an AMY page on the AMSA website. The winner receives an award medal designed and created by Heidi Wastweet.

For any inquiries, please email Jon Radel below:

Previous Winners


Save Our Planet from COVID-19 by Keiko Kubota-Miura


George Floyd, Black Lives Matter by Jeanne Stevens-Sollman


Suffer the Children by James Malonebeach


Breakout by Michael Meszaros


Black Crowned Night Heron/Brookgreen Gardens by Heidi Wastweet


Remembrance by Susan Taylor



Season of the Crow by Richard Bonham


Sic Transit Gloria Mundi by Michael Meszaros